Adelman, C. & Schwartz, B. L., The Midwestern Native Garden: An Illustrated Guide, Athens, OH: Ohio University Press, 2011.

Burrell, C. C., Native Alternatives to Invasive Plants, New York: Brooklyn Botanic Garden, 2007.

Christoper, T. (ed), The New American Landscape: Leading Voices on the Future of Sustainable Gardening, Portland, OR: Timber Press, 2011.

Darke, R., The American Woodland Garden: Capturing the Spirit of the Deciduous Forest, Portland, OR: Timber Press, 2002.

Darke, R. & Tallamy, D., The Living Landscape: Designing for Beauty and Biodiversity in the Home Garden, Portland, OR: Timber Press, 2014.

Harstad, C., Go Native, Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 1999.

Hill, P., Design Your Natural Midwest Garden, Madison: Trail Books, 2007.

Nowakowski, K. G., Native Plants in the Home Landscape for the Upper Midwest, Urbana-Champaign: University of Illinois, 2004.

Leopold, A., A Sand County Almanac, Random House, 1966.

Rainer, T. & West, C., Planting in a Post-WIld World: Designing Plant Communities for Resilient Landscapes, Portland: Timber Press, 2015.

Small, N. C. & Small, T., Using Native Plants to Restore Community in Southwest Michigan and Beyond, Kalamazoo: Kalamazoo Area Wild Ones, 2011.

Smith, J. R. & Smithy, B. S., The Prairie Garden, 70 Native Plants You Can Grow in Town or Country, Madison: University of Wisconsin Press, 1980.

Steiner, L. M. Landscaping with Native Plants of Michigan, Minneapolis: Voyager Press, 2006.

Tallamy, D. W., Bringing Nature Home: How Native Plants Sustain Wildlife in Our Gardens, Portland, OR: Timber Press, 2007.

Wasowski, S., Gardening with Prairie Plants. Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press, 2002.

Zimmerman, C., Urban and Surburban Meadows: Bringing Meadowscaping to Big and Small Places, Silver Spring: Matrix Media Press, 2010.

Links

The Biota of North America Program – bonap.org

DIY Guide to Alternative Lawns – lsa.umich.edu/mbg…Alternative_Lawns.pdf

Huron River Watershed Council – hrwc.org

Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center – wildflower.org

Landscape for Life – landscapeforlife.org

Legacy Land Conservancy – legacylandconservancy.org

Matthaei Botanical Gardens and and Nichols Arboretum – lsa.umich.edu/mbg

Michigan Audubon – michiganaudubon.org

Michigan Botanical Club – michbotclub.org

Michigan Flora – michiganflora.net/home.aspx

Michigan Invasive Species Coalition – michiganinvasives.org

Michigan Native Plant Producers Association – mnppa.org

Midwest Invasive Species Information Network – misin.msu.edu

Monarch Watch – www.monarchwatch.org/waystations

National Wildlife Federation – www.nwf.org/How-to-Help/Garden-for-Wildlife.aspx

Natural Area Preservation – Ann Arbor – Natural Area Preservation

Natural Areas Preservation Program – Washtenaw County – ewashtenaw.org…natac.html

The Nature Conservancy – nature.org/…michigan/index.htm

Rain Gardens – A How To Manual for Homeowners – …uwex.edu/pubs/pdf/rgmanual.pdf

Rain Gardens.org – raingardens.org

The Stewardship Network – stewardshipnetwork.org

Wildflower Association of Michigan – wildflowersmich.org

Wild Ones – wildones.org